Luxembourg public and school holidays in 2024

Maëlle Pintoavatar

Published on 01/11/2023, by Maëlle Pinto

article-jours-feries

Whether you are looking to take a few days off work, take advantage of a public holiday or book your next vacation, discover the official dates for the next public and school holidays in Luxembourg in 2024. Find out more about public holidays falling on the weekend and the double public holiday in 2024.


Luxembourg public holidays in 2024


  • New Year: Monday January 1
  • Easter Monday: Monday April 1
  • Mayday: Wednesday May 1
  • Europe Day: Thursday May 9
  • Ascension Day: Thursday May 9
  • Whit Monday: Monday May 20
  • National Day: Sunday June 23
  • Assumption: Thursday August 15
  • All Saints: Friday November 1
  • Christmas: Wednesday December 25
  • Boxing Day: Thursday December 26


Luxembourg double public holiday in 2024


For the first time in Luxembourg, Europe Day and Ascension Day will fall on the same day in 2024. But what of it? 🤔


As a reminder, in Luxembourg, public holidays that fall on the weekend are not lost but have to be taken on another day. This will be the case on June 23, 2024, which is a Sunday.


For this double public holiday, the same rule will apply. Employees will therefore be able to take the second public holiday on another day.


Please note: a compensatory public holiday must be taken within 3 months.


Luxembourg school holidays in 2024


🎄 Christmas holidays 2023/2024: from Saturday 23 December 2023 until Sunday 7 January 2024


🎭 Carnival holidays : from Saturday 10 February 2024 until Sunday 18 February 2024


🐇 Easter holidays : from Saturday 30 March 2024 until Saturday 14 April 2024


Pentecost holidays : from Saturday 25 May 2024 until Sunday 2 June 2024


☀️ Summer holidays : from Tuesday 16 July 2024 until Sunday 15 September 2024


🍂 All Saints Day holidays : from Saturday 26 October 2024 until Sunday 3 November 2024


🎅 Saint Nicholas Day : Friday 6 December 2024 (only for pre-primary and primary education schools)


🎄 Christmas holidays 2024/2025 : from Saturday 21 December until Sunday 5 January 2025


Source: Guichet.public.lu



All job offers in Luxembourg are on Moovijob.com!

Did you like it? Let people know!

Share on